I have watched through Dexter and there are multiple references to Harry's code of conduct, but they're never listed specifically in any of the episodes as far as I remember.

I know that the first rule is Don't get caught, the second rule is Never kill an innocent...

What are the various rules in Harry's code of conduct?


In this reference on the Dexter Wiki the rules are essentially all that you state above (in the simplest form). These are:

  1. Never get caught
  2. Never kill an innocent

There are various hints in dialogue that there may be more rules but seeing as the code was never written down we may never know unless stated in the show.

Looking further into it, it seems that not having a family besides Deb might be against the code. Though, this can be argued as general advice to continue his ways vs an actual rule of the code.


Never get caught

Make sure they deserve it

Never kids

Never make a scene

Fake emotion and normality to fit in.

When taking a psychology personality test, always answer the question with the opposite of what you feel.

Never get emotionally involved.

victims must be killers who the police have been unable to catch or convict

control urges, channel them

Don't leave any traces.

  • "victims must be killers who the police have been unable to catch or convict" If that's part of the code, Dexter breaks it on a number of occasions when he actually diverts the police from a suspect so that he can have them for his table. Given Harry is not haranguing him during those times, I'd wager it was not part of the code. – Andrew Thompson Feb 24 '17 at 19:03

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .