9

It is mentioned in the two movies (Dead Man's Chest and At World's End) that Davy Jones cannot come ashore. He does once and when he does, he brings along a bucket of seawater to bypass the restriction.

What isn't explained is WHY he cannot come ashore, what would happen to him?

9

It is shown in Dead Men Tell No Tales.

In DMTNT we see what happens to undead when they set foot on dry land. They essentially turn to ash, and vanish. We can infer that something similar would happen to Davy Jones.


For historic reasons, I'm keeping my previous answer here.

We assume that either he just is unable to, as if some invisible barrier would prevent him, or that he would perish or suffer immensely if he did so.

The most information we have was about the deal made,

Because of that love, Jones agreed to set foot on dry land once every ten years.

  • But the deal was only made between Calypso and Davy Jones. Why is Will Turner bound to it? – Mennyg Feb 22 '17 at 13:56
  • 1
    He assumed Davy Jones' position and took over his responsabilities (eternal life in exchange for ferrying lost souls and only going to land every 10 years). The Dutchman must always have a captain – BlueMoon93 Feb 22 '17 at 14:08
-3

It must be something that is related with Davy Jones being the captain of the Flying Dutchman. Being the captain of this ship granted him immense power and immunity. He can survive any physical blow and even drowning can not kill him. And many more...

But everything has a flip-side too. That is he will not be able to come ashore. The consequences are not explained in the movie. We just have to accept that with great power often comes great restrictions.

We can still make some assumptions about the untold consequences though. If he broke the rule and came ashore then he might

  1. lose the physical immunity and other powers given to him.

  2. lose the captaincy of the Dutchman.

  3. be destroyed because of disobeying the rule.

  • 1
    There's no explanation in the movies, and that has already been mentioned in the other answer. – Luciano Feb 22 '17 at 17:17

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .