This privilege allows you to view and cast close and reopen votes on your own questions.
What is closing?
Closing is a democratic voting process where the community defines what is generally on-topic and generally off-topic for this site.
What is a closed question?
Closed questions do not allow new answers and can be identified by the "(closed)" title suffix.
It takes 5 close votes from members of the community with the close vote privilege to close a question. The reason for question closure is always explained at the bottom.
When should I close my own question?
Questions that are sufficiently off-topic, as outlined in the FAQ, should be closed by casting close votes. Common reasons for question closure are:
- You asked a question that was asked before
- You asked a question that is off-topic
How do I view close votes and reasons?
Click on the "close" link under any of your questions, under the question text and to the left side. You will see a list of close reasons, each with a count of the number of votes cast with that reason.
You may also cast a close or reopen vote on your questions. With the close/reopen vote privilege, you'll be able to see (and cast) close and reopen votes on all questions.
What happens to closed questions?
Some off-topic questions may be migrated to a different site right after closing (we keep the question page with a link to the new location).
Other closed questions may be reopened through a similar voting process. They can also eventually be merged with another question or even deleted.